fbpx

TERROIR

[n.m.]

All the land in the same region providing a characteristic agricultural product.

Languedoc, the evidence of the 21st century 

The Corbières are the last foothills of the Pyrenees. Their formation begins in the Jurassic era, 203 million years ago. The movement of tectonic plates closed off the ocean space and transformed the sea into mountains. Our terroir is the fruit of the encounter between the sea and the mountain : majestic rocky landscapes under the influence of the Mediterranean climate. In our territory,the aridity is compensated by sea and north winds. and by rare and unpredictable rains. Here, Nature is wild and ruthless, but generous, for those who know how to respect it.

Deep down, where the vines feed, there is a unique sedimentary mixture composed of soil typologies from all geological eras (clays, dolomitic limestones, Cretaceous sandstone, molassic deposits from the Miocene to the Bartonian period...). The soils present a harmonious balance between stoniness and fine fraction offering the vine ideal conditions to ensure its summer vegetative cycle".*

This great mineral diversity is key to the aromatic complexity of our wines.

For a long time considered as vulgar table wines, Languedoc wines have begun to be recognized at their true value in recent years. Wines with character, intense and pronounced aromas and great authenticity. Characteristics that reveal the richness and great diversity of our region. Our bottles are a digest of the sensations that our region can give us.

* Inao Report for theappelation Corbières-Boutenac, 2004.

One Terroir, several Typicities

Each plot of vines is unique and has its own characteristics and found its identity. The installation of the weather stations allowed us to realize that the temperature, rainfall and winds are different on each plot. All these characteristics condition the growth and ripening of the grapes. A millilitre or a degree more or less therefore has a direct influence on the wine. An ever-increasing knowledge pointed of the characteristics of each plot allows us tointervene on our land in a more relevant and accurate way.. Our estate is a cradle of biological, geological and climatic diversity. This is what we want to demonstrate with our parcel selections.

Each range is the expression of the specificities of a plot. Our estate is an ecosystem. It is its diversity which is the basis of our identity.

Red Sandstone

Percolation

Clay

Water retention

Limestone

Friability

Red Sandstone

Mediterranean

Red sandstone is a sedimentary rock mainly composed of quartz and feldspar. It is more or less consolidated sand. 

In places, the sandstone is "not in place", i.e. it has been transported and has amalgamated with the other materials in contact. Its mineralogical composition is therefore complexified. When water is filtered by this type of soil (percolation) it is loaded with a wide variety of mineralswhich guarantees a beautiful aromatic complexity for the wines of these parcels.

On the surface, sand of sandstone origin slows down evaporation, a valuable feature to limit the impact of drought periods. Sandy textures are also less conducive to the proliferation of pathogens.That makes organic driving easier.

Red sandstone provides our wines with nutrients and protection.

The wine always feels its terroir.

French proverb

Clay

Corbières side

Clay is one of the minerals with the highest water retention capacity. It absorbs large quantities and releases them sparingly. It therefore guarantees a regular water supply without excess.

Its presence ensures the freshness and humidity of the soil. Combined with the Mediterranean climate it creates ideal conditions for the grapes to ripen well.

The stoneware-clay mixture is the key to wines full of freshness and complex aromas. The water percolated by the sandstone, loaded with minerals, is absorbed by the clay which nourishes the vines.

Limestone

Mountainous influence

Water is not retained in the calcareous soils over time. Roots are therefore regularly confronted with hydric stress. That forces them to go deeper into the soil to find water.

Porosity limestone favours this deep rooting. This reduces the impact of high temperatures and gives access to more water and mineral resources. Thus we have vines with a better resistance and longevity.

Clay soils-create balanced water stress conditions that offer us robust vines perfect for great wines..

Have a taste of our Terroir.

fbpx

TERROIR

[n.m]

Ensemble des terres d’une même région fournissant un produit agricole caractéristique.

Le Languedoc, l’évidence du XXIème siècle 

Les Corbières sont le dernier contrefort des Pyrénées. Leur formation commence à l’ère Jurassique, il y a 203 millions d’années. Les mouvements des plaques tectoniques sont venus refermer l’espace marin et faire apparaître du relief. Notre terroir est le fruit de la rencontre entre la mer et la montagne : de majestueux paysages rocheux sous l’influence du climat méditerranéen. Chez nous, l’aridité est compensée par les vents marins et ceux du Nord et par des pluies rares et imprévisibles. La Nature est ici sauvage et impitoyable, mais généreuse, pour ceux qui savent la respecter.  

En profondeur, où se nourrissent les vignes, on trouve un mélange sédimentaire unique composé de typologies de sols de toutes les ères géologiques (argiles, calcaires dolomitiques, grès du Crétacé, dépôts molassiques du miocène au bartonien…). Les sols présentent un « équilibre harmonieux entre pierrosité et fraction fine offrant à la vigne des conditions idéales pour assurer son cycle végétatif estival ».*

Cette grande diversité minéralogique est clé dans la complexité aromatique de nos vins.  

Longtemps considérés comme de vulgaires vins de table, les vins du Languedoc commencent depuis quelques années à être reconnus à leur juste valeur. Des vins avec du caractère, une aromatique intense et prononcée et une grande authenticité. Caractéristiques révélatrices de la richesse et la grande diversité de notre région. Nos bouteilles sont un condensé des sensations que peut nous procurer notre territoire.

* Rapport de l’Inao pour l’appelation Corbières-Boutenac, 2004.

Un Terroir, plusieurs Typicités

Chaque parcelle de vignes est unique et possède des caractéristiques qui lui sont propres et fondent son identité. L’installation des stations météo nous a permis de nous rendre compte que les cumuls de températures, la pluviométrie et les vents sont différents sur chaque parcelle. Toutes ces caractéristiques conditionnent la croissance et la maturation des raisins. Un millilitre ou un degré de plus ou de moins a donc une influence directe sur le vin. Une connaissance toujours plus pointue des caractéristiques de chaque parcelle nous permet d’intervenir sur nos terres de manière plus pertinente et précise. Notre domaine est un berceau de diversité biologique, géologique et climatique. C’est ce que nous voulons démontrer avec nos sélections parcellaires.  

Chaque gamme est l’expression des spécificités d’une parcelle. Notre domaine est un écosystème. C’est sa diversité qui fonde notre identité.

Grès Rouge

Percolation

Argile

Rétention d’eau

Calcaire

Friabilité

Grès Rouge

Méditerranéen

Le grès rouge est une roche sédimentaire principalement composée de quartz et de feldspath. C’est du sable plus ou moins consolidé. 

Par endroits, le grès est « non en place », c’est à dire qu’il a été transporté et s’est amalgamé avec les autres matériaux en contact. Sa composition minéralogique s’en trouve donc complexifiée. Lorsque l’eau est filtrée par ce type de sol (percolation) elle se charge d’une grande variété de minéraux, qui garantit une belle complexité aromatique pour les vins de ces parcelles.  

En surface, le sable d’origine gréseuse freine l’évaporation, caractéristique précieuse pour limiter l’impact des périodes de sécheresse. Les textures sableuses sont également moins favorables à la prolifération des pathogènes, ce qui favorise la conduite en bio 

Le grès rouge offre à nos vins nutriments et protection 

Toujours le vin sent son terroir.

Proverbe français

Argile

Côté Corbières

L’argile et l’un des minéraux avec la plus grande capacité de rétention d’eau. Elle absorbe de grandes quantités et les restitue avec parcimonie. Elle est donc la garante d’une alimentation en eau régulière et sans excès.

Sa présence assure la fraîcheur et l’humidité du sol qui combinée au climat méditerranéen crée des conditions idéales pour une belle maturation du raisin 

Le mélange grès-argile est la clé pour des vins pleins de fraîcheur et aux arômes complexes. L’eau percolée par le grès, chargée en minéraux est absorbée par l’argile qui nourrit les vignes.  

Calcaire

Influence montagneuse

L’eau n’est pas retenue dans les sols calcaires dans la durée. Les racines sont donc confrontées régulièrement à des conditions de stress hydrique, qui les force à aller chercher l’eau plus en profondeur.   

La porosité calcaire favorise cet enracinement profond. Cela réduit l’impact des grandes chaleurs et donne accès à une plus grande quantité de ressources d’eau et de minéraux. On a donc des vignes avec une meilleure résistance et longévité  

Les sols argilo-calcaires créent des conditions de stress hydrique équilibrées qui nous offrent des vignes robustes parfaites pour des grands vins. 

Goûtez à notre Terroir.